Skip to content

Kvetching

January 19, 2009

I’m trying to figure out what I want to do for my placement at the moment. I’m not sure if I want to try to pull a stint with an archaeology consultantcy to try and get up to speed with geophysics and GIS and the IT side of things or if I’d be better off trying to get a berth with one of the lecturers as they do their summer fieldwork. I think I’d also enjoy doing work with an archival organization, although I suppose that that isn’t really within the purview of landscape archaeology.

I’ve also got a Desk Based Assessment due in a month, which I really need to find a subject for. I’m hoping to get some contacts in Gloucester, as from what I hear, they’re really good at getting back to you there. Such logistics probably are going to be my main concern for that project. It’s tempting to try to hustle something up out in Wiltshire, though, even if that would make the travel aspect of the project rather onerous.

And, if those weren’t enough, I also have a 20 minute seminar to organize for March and also a Conservation Management Plan for the week after. I do have an inkling for the seminar, at least. That seems a good medium to continue my studies of Tycho Brahe and Uraniborg. Gotta sit down and reread my paper from my Columbia landscape class. I wonder if I could make it up there for a day or two.

Finally, there’s my dissertation. That’s screaming out for a topic too. I’m leaning towards trying to do something prehistoric, just so I can get my feet wet there and have a chance to compare it to the fun I’ve had doing historical projects. Out recent lecture on the transition from the Mesolithic to the Neolithic certainly piqued my interest. So, maybe something about that could be done, or I could go after some stone circles somewhere. I really need to start buttonholing some of the lecturers and see what I can shake out of them.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

